I just remembered another convenient plot hole in TR. In the scene where Thor forces Loki to reveal himself, why Loki doesn’t have Gungnir with himself?
As we’ve seen in other movies Odin doesn’t carry Gungnir with himself when he is in his home/palace. But it’s not logical for the king to not bring his weapon with himself when he is out of the palace and among other people. What if someone attempts to kill him? Loki specially is a person who doesn’t trust others with sth like his life. He would think of possible dangers and has backup plans for them. He would think of sth possibly goes wrong and his cover’s blown, and then the guards might turn against him. He wouldn’t leave a weapon like Gungnir in the palace. Just imagine how the scene would have played out differently, had Loki had Gungnir to defend himself against Thor. But no, according to TR, Loki isn’t intelligent enough to think about sth like that!
I think if you analyze TR deeply enough, you will find that it is the sea of motherfucking holes.
I mean, she looks amazing already because Cate Blanchett is an actual goddess, but she would have been legitimately SO TERRIFYING and deeply eerie/unsettling and heartwrenchingly compelling. Mmmmm.
Anyway I’m just grooving on this AU now. I love Kirby’s art and the idea of doing an homage to him but like as a monumental capstone to the trilogy, GdT at the helm would have been INSANE—and also did you see the lighting in Crimson Peak, the dude would have just nailed the aesthetic left right and center
And I’m sorry but I can’t stop— the idea of not just Hela, not just Thor but Jotun Loki in GdT’s hands is making me weak
I would write that AU if I were half as creative as GdT… but since I’m not, I can only imagine it vaguely and wistfully.
today i learned that, when Jared Leto sent Margot Robbie a live rat as a part of his rude, bullshit “method acting” fo Suicide Squad, she was scared but still refused to abandon or harm the rat.
she overcame her initial fear in order to buy him a proper set up and take care of him until she found the rat a reliable owner, who… ended up being Guillermo del Toro for some reason?
so yeah that’s what happened with the Suicide Squad rat
the legality of parodies is so funny. if you take a bit from someones work without their permission its illegal UNLESS you make fun of them
Mockery is so central to human culture that the right to it is enshrined in law. Aliens have written many volumes on this. Which humans have duly parodied.
I don’t know what it is about Star Wars but even if it’s not your biggest fandom, it still has the funniest memes by a long shot I mean “look at all the fucks i give anakin” and “your poncho is a piece of junk” and anakin hates sand it’s all just 1000% pure class
YOU CAN’T BEAT THIS SHIT
And my new favorite:
Visiting my sister and her husband who constantly criticizes her and blames her for things, at length, in a way that seems to me (and my parents) emotionally abusive. Hooray. At least the Renaissance fair was mostly fun.
“Diets do not work. Not just paleo or Atkins or Weight Watchers or Goop, but all diets.
Since 1959, research has shown that 95 to 98 percent of attempts to
lose weight fail and that two-thirds of dieters gain back more than they
lost. The reasons are biological and irreversible.
“
Fatsplaining at its finest. I don’t give a fuck when someone chooses to not be healthy, but don’t sit there and make bullshit excuses and blame anything other than yourself and your lack of self control. Take responsibility and own up to it, you’re not fooling anyone.
I’m sorry other people’s shapes make you so angry that you pretend science is wrong
Obviously this person must think climate change is wrong and vaccines cause autism
The really fucked-up thing is that fat stigma and anti-fat culture has indoctrinated people to the point that even FAT PEOPLE believe the only way to address their own fatness–and everyone else’s–is cruelty, bullying, and fat-shaming.
I shared this article recently to a plus-size equestrian group that I belong to, thinking it might uplift people and get them thinking differently about how we’re treated in the world. How doctors treat us/don’t listen to us. How THERE IS NOTHING THE FUCK WRONG WITH US. But instead of responding positively, a whole lot of people freaked the hell out and started bleating about how fatsplaining and how this article is anecdotal at best, total lies at worst despite the care the author took to cite creditable academic/medical/scientific sources and faithfully recount interviews with his subjects.
Ironically, it’s all right there on the page, and some people are so blinded by fat stigma and self-hate that they either don’t care to see it, or need a lot of time and love to start to believe it themselves:
“But perhaps the most unique aspect of weight stigma is how it isolates its victims from one another. For most minority groups, discrimination contributes to a sense of belongingness, a community in opposition to a majority. Gay people like other gay people; Mormons root for other Mormons. Surveys of higher-weight people, however, reveal that they hold many of the same biases as the people discriminating against them.”
Storytime: My mom was dying of cancer and complications and my brother still had fights with me over how much I “let her” eat (spoiler alert: it was normal amounts) because clearly her weight would kill her first (and it’d be my fault—yes, our mom was slowly dying and my brother blamed me for killing her faster, this is why I don’t talk to my brother, but that’s a different subject).
She was chronically ill from the time she was in college, and yet her GP (general practitioner) said to her face, without evidence of her (perfectly average) diet, “the only way to get you to lose weight is to lock you in a room and slide your plates under the door.” That was a thing a doctor said to my mom. Focused on that instead of her lupus, gastro-peresis, type1 diabetes, fibromyalgia, a-fib and other heart troubles, neuralgia… most of which had been plaguing her long before she was obese.
Sadly, this got into her head so badly that she would constantly talk about getting stomach surgery (btw people gain back dangerous weight after that, too; look it up), no matter how much it would have been medically dangerous—possibly deadly—to even attempt, for her. She talked about it up until the last couple of months of her life, after two years of cancer and chemo, merely resigned to our warnings that it wasn’t wise to seek out a doctor who would be willing. People die trying to be thin, whether they are healthy in other ways or not. It’s so bad that dying people are trying to die faster by trying to fix their guilt over being alive while fat.
I am so done with fatphobia and this culture of diets and surgeries.